ETIAS VISA for US Citizens

The ETIAS, or European Travel Information and Authorization System, provides travelers the option to waive traveling with a visa. Expected to come into effect at the end of 2021, the ETIAS Europe will revolutionize the way international travel is conducted. It is more than a Europe Visa for US Citizens, it is a breakthrough in the way travel safety is being conducted.

There are 60 countries whose citizens currently need to apply for the ETIAS Visa in order to continue to travel to the Schengen Area on vacation or business trips. Countries that require the VISA include countries such as Austria, France, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Spain, and more.

Those interested in applying will complete their application entirely online. The purpose of this program is to conduct more recent background checks before travellers are permitted to enter ETIAS countries. The checks monitor criminal and security threats, as well as potential health threats individual travelers possess.


Do US Citizens need a VISA for Europe?

Starting in 2021 when the program is fully launched, US citizens will need to apply for the ETIAS EU in order to visit countries on the provided list. They will then be screened against the ETIAS security databases for potential national security threats they may possess as traveling hazards.

The ETIAS acts as a visa waiver, meaning those planning on traveling to ETIAS countries won’t be applying for a Visa. Travelers who plan on visiting other parts of Europe will still need to go through traditional travel customs.

US Citizens will need to apply for the ETIAS when traveling to the following countries:

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, San Marino, Spain, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Poland, Portugal, and Vatican City.

These countries fall under what is referred to be the Schengen Area. In an effort to strengthen the national security of these countries, travelers from a separate list of countries, not just including the US, will have to submit themselves to applying for the ETIAS.

These countries include:

Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, El Salvador, Georgia, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macau, Macedonia, Malaysia, Marhshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent, Samoa, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Taiwan, Timor Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Vanuatu, and Venezuela.

ETIAS VISA Requirements for US Citizens

In order to apply for the ETIAS Visa Waiver for Europe, American citizens will have to meet a specific set of criteria. As this waiver will allow Americans to travel around the designated country without a visa for 90 days, the screening process is rigorous. 

Any US citizen over 18 years of age traveling to the Schengen Area will need to fill out an application for the ETIAS.

Necessary information for the application includes:

  • Full Name
  • Date and Place of Birth
  • Sex
  • Address
  • Phone Number
  • Email
  • School Information
  • Current Employer
  • Passport

Additionally, Americans will be asked to provide the name of the first Schengen Area country they will be traveling to. The application also requires applicants to answer a set of background questions in order to determine their eligibility to travel to the Schengen Area countries.

As mentioned above, travelers must still hold a current passport. What’s more, the passport will need to be valid for the entirety of the 6 months after they first arrive to the Schengen Area countries.

Additionally, application fees are associated with the process. Applicants will need to provide a credit or debit card in order to complete the process.

Europe VISA Application form for USA

Luckily, obtaining the ETIAS Visa Waiver for travel to Schengen Area countries is conveniently able to be performed online. Applicants complete their application and wait for the system to check the information provided

The information provided by applicants is checked against that of Interpol, SIS, etc, in order to determine its validity. Applicants should take special care to ensure the information they have provided is correct, lest their application is flagged or worse, denied.

If your application is refused, you will be sent an email detailing exactly why your application was not sent through. Applicants should apply at least 72 hours before their trip and double-check on their status before leaving. 

If any serious conditions change within the application’s life, their application status will change with it. If you are worried about the possibility of your application being denied, you should apply even sooner.

Complicated applications that necessitate further paperwork may take up to four weeks to process.

Applicants can apply for their ETIAS Electronic Visa online at