ETIAS Visa Waiver for Austria

More and more people choose Austria as holiday destination. It is worth mentioning that being able to visit its historic cities and towns and walk in the beautiful landscape of the Alps is a great luxury.

Austria is a member country of the Schengen area and one of the richest countries in the world.

ETIAS for Austria: available in 2021

Non-EU citizens from visa exempt countries can obtain the ETIAS Austria visa exemption through the online system. Third-country nationals who can currently travel to Austria without a visa must have an approved ETIAS travel authorization to enter the country.

Travelers must verify the ETIAS requirements according to their nationality before entering the country.

Travelers from eligible countries simply need to complete an online application form with their personal information, passport details and an email address. Applicants must answer some security questions and pay the ETIAS travel authorization.

Once approved, the ETIAS will be valid for three consecutive years or until the passport expires.

Interesting information about Austria

  • Capital: Vienna
  • Official and national language: Austrian German
  • Demonym: Austrian
  • Area: 83.879 km²
  • Population: 8.857.960
  • Time zone :
    • UTC/GMT +1
    • UTC/GMT +2 (Summer)
  • Currency: Euro (€)
  • Calling code: +43
  • ISO 3166 code: AT
  • Joined the European Union: 1 January 1995
  • Electric socket: 230V supply voltage and 50Hz


The Republic of Austria is a country located in Central Europe with 8.8 million inhabitants. Its origins go back to the Habsburg Dynasty.

In the 17th and 18th centuries, Austria was a powerful nation and the Austrian Empire was proclaimed in 1804.
The Habsburg Empire ended with the First World War, specifically in 1918. In an attempt to join Germany, Austria adopted the name of the Republic of Austria-Germany. The Treaty of Versailles forbade such a union.

The First Republic of Austria was established in 1919.
In 1938, through the process known as the Anschluss, the country was occupied by Nazi Germany. This occupation would last until the end of the Second World War, when Austria would regain its independence and the Second Republic of Austria would be created in 1955.

Nowadays, Austria has a Parliamentary Government with a representative democracy composed of the nine states of Austria.

Exploring Austria

Austria is full of dreamlike mountain landscapes, as well as charming villages that it is impossible not to fall in love with. Austria is a precious destination and has wonderful landmarks: from charming Vienna to the spectacular Alps.

The Austrian territory is a very safe country with an excellent public transport network.

Visitors will be attracted by the smell of fresh bread and sweet cakes that the country gives off. It is especially recommended to taste the Apfelstrudel signature. There are also many places to take a pint.

Austria has had the most incredible musicians and artists in the world. For instance, the legacy of Mozart and Schubert is palpable in the country today. Their work has been well preserved in many museums and galleries.